潮湿测量的原理

潮湿特性的原理

根本原因

如果可以追溯到潮湿的根源并停止,潮湿处理是最有效且无风险的。 我们采用排除法。 一个原因可以掩盖另一个原因。 从源头停水很少需要很长时间,至少是暂时停水,例如疏通排水沟或打开窗户。 可能还有其他更智能、更耐用的选择。

了解当根本原因未识别并停止时可能会出现什么问题。

湿气的来源分为四类

  1. 雨水; 通常被视为渗透性湿气。 这通常是由于排水沟、料斗、落水管、沟渠、损坏的屋顶或高架花园损坏或堵塞造成的。
    • 进入(或渗透湿气)在地下室很常见。 外部抹灰的热应力会导致收缩和裂缝,从而导致水渗透。
    • 检查货物正面和背面的雨水是任何潮湿调查的起点。
  2. 水蒸气 导致凝结或间隙凝结(在建筑材料内)和霉菌。
    • 所有报告的房屋潮湿中 85% 是由冷凝引起的。
    • 冷凝通常伴随着所有其他形式的潮湿,
  3. 漏水; 通常是自来水、散热器、废水或淋浴漏水。
  4. 地下水; 称为潮湿上升,这是由高地下水位引起的,非常罕见。
    • 由于商业动机,冷凝或有缺陷的雨水产品通常被误诊为由潮湿上升引起的。
    • 在考虑化学上升湿气处理之前,必须彻底调查所有其他形式的湿气,并长期监测。
    • 重要的是要看到潮湿墙壁的两侧,例如聚会墙的邻居一侧。 请注意,需要有派对墙等。需要 1996 年法案协议,因此他们会参与其中。
    • 墙的两面都必须是潮湿的,而且潮湿的线必须是水平的,这样潮湿才会上升。
    • 误诊的风险在于湿气变得隐藏起来,可能被困住并在其他地方造成更大的损害。
雨水是水的主要来源,有时是水蒸气——一个原理
雨水是水的主要来源。 破损的雨水制品是潮湿的常见原因。

房产不是潮湿建造的

房屋建造时不存在潮湿缺陷。 造成潮湿的原因是性能的变化、扩建设计不当、防潮处理不当、中央供暖、双层玻璃或生活方式的改变(例如日常淋浴)。

水的运动

水以三种方式流动;

  • 流动液体,无论是雨水还是漏水,始终向下。
  • 将通过空气将水从高蒸气压(量)分散到低蒸气压(量)。
  • 吸水。 多孔建筑材料在零重力下会均匀地吸收各个方向的水分,但在重力作用下主要向下吸收水分。

消除蒸汽的影响

几乎所有房产都存在不同程度的冷凝现象。 它是由源头蒸汽提取不足引起的,并且由于加热或隔热不足而变得更糟。 

任何给定温度下的空气都具有容纳水蒸气的能力。 蒸汽与容量的百分比称为相对湿度或%RH。 随着温度升高,容量增加,相反,随着温度降低,空气中含有的蒸汽减少,直到达到开始形成冷凝的温度。 这称为露点。 除非蒸汽从建筑物中排出,否则当夜间温度下降时,建筑材料内部或内部的冷表面上会形成冷凝。

通常可以通过通风消除其他来源的湿气。 因此,改善和监测通风是至关重要的工具。 如果您仔细阅读 Kenwood、Rentokil 和 Aquapol 等防潮公司提供的文件,他们通常会建议改善通风以及推荐的处理方法。

解决潮湿问题的可能是廉价的通风设备。 昂贵的防潮处理可能没有什么区别。 在某些情况下,这会让事情变得更糟。 在其他情况下,它掩盖了水分来源导致腐烂的问题。

热桥接

湿气首先在冷表面凝结。 某些表面的散热速度比其他表面更快,例如单块玻璃、支撑延伸部分的金属 RSJ、抹灰金属珠、烟囱、潮湿的砖砌体、实心地板或不隔热的天花板。 

木材缺陷

对任何财产来说,最大的风险来自于腐烂,尤其是底层木材以下的干腐病。 腐烂只在有水的地方生长。 如果气流蒸发掉水分,腐烂的风险就会降低。 误诊和错误处理潮湿会增加腐烂的风险。

木虫损害在老木材中很常见,但很少活跃,因为老木材通常没有足够的营养。 潮湿的木材比干燥的木材更容易受到木虫的影响。 与腐烂不同的是,木蛀虫在潮湿源停止后仍会继续腐烂。 活跃的木蛀虫很容易识别和治疗。 

模子 

仅当相对湿度超过 85%RH 持续 6 至 8 小时时才会形成霉菌,具体取决于物种。 模点是指低于该温度就有霉菌生长风险的温度。 霉菌在住宅环境中并不危险,而是通风不足的迹象。

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

翻译

Principles of Damp Surveys

The principles of damp in properties

Root cause

Damp treatment is most effective and risk free, if the cause is traced back to the source of moisture and stopped. We use a process of elimination. One cause can mask another cause.  It rarely takes long to stop water at source, at least temporarily, such as unblocking a gutter or opening a window. There may be additional smarter more durable options.

To see what can go wrong when the root cause is not identified and stopped.

Sources of damp fall into four categories

  1. Rain water; often seen as penetrating damp. This typically results from a damaged or blocked gutter, hopper, down pipe, gully, damaged roof or raised garden.
    • Ingress (or penetrating damp) is common in basements. Thermal stress to external render can resulting shrinkage and cracks for water to penetrate.
    • A check of rainwater goods front and back, is the starting point of any damp survey.
  2. Water vapour resulting in condensation or interstitial condensation (within a building material) and mould.
    • 85% of all reported dampness in properties is caused by condensation.
    • Condensation often accompanies all other forms of dampness,
  3. Water leak; typically, mains water, radiator, waste water or shower leak.
  4. Ground water; known as rising damp, this is caused by a high-water table and is very rare.
    • Condensation or defective rainwater goods are commonly misdiagnosed as being caused by rising damp, through commercial motivation.
    • All other forms of damp must be thoroughly investigated, and monitored over time, before considering chemical rising damp treatment.
    • It is important to see both sides of a damp wall, such as the neighbour’s side of a party wall. Note a Party Wall etc. Act 1996 agreement will be needed, so they will be involved.
    • Both sides of a wall must be damp and the line of dampness must be horizontal, for there to be rising damp.
    • The risk of misdiagnosis is that the dampness becomes hidden, possibly trapped and causes greater damage elsewhere.
rain is the main source of water and sometimes water vapour - a principle
Rain is the main source of water. Broken rainwater goods is a frequent cause of damp.

Properties are not built damp

Properties are not built with damp defects. It is the changes to the properties that cause dampness, be poorly designed extensions, inappropriate damp proofing treatment, central heating, double glazing or life styles changes such as daily showers.

Movement of water

Water moves in three ways;

  • Flowing liquid, always downwards whether it’s rain water or a leak.
  • Vapour will disperse water through air from high vapour pressure (quantity) to low.
  • Absorption of water. Porous building material will absorb moisture in all directions equally in zero gravity, but mainly downwards with gravity.

Eliminating the effects of vapour

Condensation is found in almost every property to some degree. It is caused by insufficient extraction of vapour at source and is made worse by insufficient heat or insulation. 

Air at any given temperature has the capacity to hold water vapour. The percentage of vapour compared to the capacity is known as relative humidity or %RH. As temperature increases so capacity increases, conversely as temperature decreases so air holds less vapour until a temperature when condensation starts to form. This is called the dew point. Unless vapour is vented out of a property, when the temperature drops at night, condensation will form on a cold surface inside or within the building material.

Often damp from other source can be eliminated through ventilation. So improving and monitoring ventilation is vital tool. If you carefully read the documents supplied by damp proofing companies, such as Kenwood, Rentokil and Aquapol, they will typically recommend improved ventilation, along with their recommended treatment.

It is likely to be the inexpensive ventilation that solves the damp problem. The expensive damp proofing treatment probably makes no difference. In some cases it makes matters worse. In other cases it masks the problem allowing the source of moisture to cause rot.

Thermal bridging

Moisture condenses on cold surfaces first. Some surfaces can lose heat more rapidly than other surfaces, such as a single pane of glass, a metal RSJ supporting an extension, plasterers metal beading, chimneys, damp brickwork, solid floors or uninsulated ceilings. 

Timber defects

The greatest risk to any property results from rot, especially dry rot damaging below ground floor timber. Rot only grows where water is present. The risk of rot diminishes if airflow evaporates away water. Misdiagnosed and incorrectly treated damp increases the risk of rot.

Woodworm damage is common in old timber, but very rarely active as old timber is not normally sufficiently nutritious. Damp timber is more likely to be affected by woodworm than dry timber. Unlike rot, woodworm can continue after the source of damp has been stopped. Active woodworm is easy to identify and treat. 

Mould 

Mould only forms when relative humidity exceeds 85%RH for 6 to 8 hours depending on the species. Mould point is the temperature below which there is a risk of mould growing. Mould is not dangerous in the residential setting but a sign that there is insufficient ventilation.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call now