规则 6:凝结

结露问题

所有房产都有冷凝现象,但大多数房产都有足够的通风,可以在冷凝水引起问题之前将其干燥。

冷凝是由于冷表面在露点或露点以下的过量蒸汽冷凝造成的。

湿度系统

等式由三部分组成;

  1. 湿度,
  2. 温度和
  3. 通风,

每一个都可能导致问题或解决问题。

常见问题

蒸汽在寒冷的表面上凝结成水是家里最常见的潮湿形式。 它最常见于底层外部墙壁的下表面。 来自厨房、浴室、洗衣机或烘干衣服的温暖潮湿空气在遇到寒冷的外墙、窗户或管道时会迅速凝结。 再加上人类和宠物的潮湿呼吸。

冷点

在空腔壁的两层表皮相交的地方,墙壁相对较冷。 这在底层墙的底部最为明显,通常比环境温度低 5°C 以上。 夜间温差可能会更大。

最脆弱的地区

  1. 冷水总管、
  2. 顶层房间边缘周围(隔热不良的屋檐),
  3. 寒冷且通风不良的屋顶和底层地板空隙,
  4. 寒冷的地方,例如朝北或遮阳的墙壁,
  5. 靠近任何嵌入的金属物体(例如旧的煤气照明管道)。
  6. 外部金属落水管和支撑支架,
  7. 窗户上方和下方,
  8. 通过开口,尤其是靠近门或窗的墙壁的冷部分
  9. 靠近通风不良的浴室、厨房或洗衣房的任何地方,
  10. 采用双层玻璃,通常采用冷金属框架或不通风(许多住户不知道如何打开半开的安全锁)。

露点

露点是水开始凝结的温度。 来自温暖潮湿厨​​房的潮湿空气很容易在较冷的外墙表面上凝结。 通常,表面只需比环境温度低 5°C 即可开始形成冷凝。

绝缘

玻璃和金属是热的良导体,因此比木材、砖块或石膏损失热能的速度要快得多。 冷凝水顺着冰冷的窗户和框架流到下面的墙壁上。 嵌入墙壁中的金属物体(例如电源插座、电缆或管道后面)可能会引发冷凝。 即使在夏天,冷金属也会导致凝结。

环控系统

虽然冷凝是不可避免的,但可以通过源头通风、充足的热量、空气流通和定期擦拭潮湿表面来控制。

烘干衣服

理想情况下,衣服应该在室外晾干,或者使用外部通风的干衣机。 双层玻璃窗应保持滴流通风口打开。

另一种方法是指定潮湿区域,然后通过擦去表面水分和经常打开窗户来管理这些潮湿区域的湿度。 维多利亚时代的人们过去常常在冷空气与温暖潮湿的空气交汇处的入口大厅铺瓷砖。 浴室油漆和瓷砖容易蒸发水分并且易于擦拭。 顶部提示; 使用电加热浴室镜子。

被动通气

一个常见的错误是增加建筑物的通风。 这通常会适得其反,因为外部空气可能比温暖潮湿的内部空气更冷,并且会导致而不是减轻凝结。 正流通风系统不一定能减少冷凝。

间隙凝结

在最坏的情况下,墙内可能会形成冷凝。 这称为间隙凝结。 如果温度太高而无法凝结水蒸气,并且外部空气太冷而足以凝结水蒸气,则在墙壁或建筑物内存在 露线。 被建筑材料自然吸收的蒸气将在建筑材料内凝结。 这称为间质凝结。 它很少可见,也很少引起问题。

冷金属嵌入物

当建筑物由具有不同热性能的材料组成时,例如连接到墙壁或金属托梁 (RSJ) 的冷锻铁落水管,间隙冷凝最为明显。 在寒冷的冬夜,经常可以看到屋顶延伸部分的钢梁下方积水。

<:规则 5 潮湿 OK原则湿气上升规则 7:>
翻译

Condensation problem

All properties have codnnsation, but most properties have sufficient ventilation to dry out condensation before it causes a problem.

Condensation results from excess vapour condensing of a cold surface, at or below the dew point.

Humidity

There are three parts to the equation;

  1. humidity,
  2. temperature and
  3. ventilation,

Each one can cause and problem or resolve it.

Common problem

Vapour condensing into water on cold surfaces is the most common form of dampness in the home. It is most prevalent on the lower surfaces of external ground floor walls. Warm moist air from a kitchen, bathroom, washing machine or drying clothes will condense rapidly when meeting a cold external wall, window or pipe. Add to this humid breath from human and pets.

Cold spots

A wall will be relatively cold at the point where both skins of a cavity wall meet. This is most pronounced at the base of a ground floor wall, which is often more than 5°C cooler than the ambient temperature. The temperature differential can be much greater at night.

Most vulnerable areas

  1. cold water mains pipes,
  2. around edge of top floor rooms (by poorly insulated eaves),
  3. cold and poorly ventilated roof and sub-floor voids,
  4. cold spots such as north facing or shaded walls,
  5. near any embedded metal object (such as old gas lighting piping).
  6. external metal downpipes and supporting brackets,
  7. on and below windows,
  8. by openings, especially the cold section of wall by a door or window
  9. anywhere near a poorly ventilated bathroom, kitchen or laundry room,
  10. by double glazing, often with cold metal frames or without ventilation (many occupier don’t know how to open ajar on the safety lock).

Dew point

The dew point is the temperature that water starts to condense. Humid air from a warm moist kitchen readily condenses on the cooler surfaces of external walls. Typically, a surface only has to be 5°C lower than the ambient temperature for condensation to start to form.

Insulation

Glass and metal are good conductors of heat and therefore lose thermal energy much more rapidly than timber, brick or plaster. Condensation runs down cold windows and frames onto walls beneath them. Metal objects embedded in walls such as behind an electrical socket, cable or pipe can initiate condensation. Cold metal can cause condensation, even in summer.

Ventilation

Although condensation is inevitable, it can be manged with ventilation out at source, combined with sufficient heat, air circulation and regular wiping of wet surfaces.

Drying clothes

Ideally clothes should be dried outside, or with an externally vented clothes drier. Double glazed windows should have trickled vents kept open.

An alternative is to designate wet areas, then manage humidity in those wet areas, by wiping off surface moisture and opening windows often. Victorians used to tile their entrance halls, at the point where cold air meets warm humid air. Bathroom paints and tiles evaporate moisture readily and are easy to wipe down. Top tip; use an electrically heated bathroom mirror.

Passive ventilation

A common mistake is to increase ventilation into a building. This is often counterproductive as the outside air is likely to be cooler than the warm moist internal air, and will cause, rather than alleviate condensation. Positive flow ventilation systems do not necessarily reduce condensation.

Interstitial condensation

In the worst cases, condensation can form within a wall. This is known as interstitial condensation. If the temperature is too warm to condense water vapour and the air outside it more than cold enough to condense vapour, then within the wall or building there exist a dew line. Vapour absorbed naturally by the building material will condense within the building material. This is called insterstilitial condensation. It is rarely visible and rarely causes a problem.

Cold metal embedded objects

Interstitial condensation is most noticeable when a building is composed of material with varying thermal properties, such as a cold wrought iron downpipes attached to walls or metal joist (RSJ). Water is often seen forming on a cold winter’s night below the steal beam of a roof extension.

<: Rule 5 Damp OK principles Rising damp Rule 7:>
Call now